Suson lone Cebuano in CLAGTC quarters

Date Published: January 27, 2018

Top seed Marc Nicole Suson is the only Cebuano left in the 18 Under Boys category of the 12th Cebuana Lhuillier Age-Group Tennis Championships which unfurled last Friday in three venues here in Cebu City.

Suson advanced to the quarterfinals with an 8-0 bashing of John Paul Sinambong.

Suson is on track to add 200 to his points after the Unified Tennis Philippines (UTP), a faction of the Philippine Tennis Association (Philta), made the Cebu leg a Group 1 level event.

Tournament director Mario Inguito Craiz said that this is the first time that the Cebu leg has been made into a Group 1 event.

According to Craiz, the UTP has decided to spread the Group 1 level events all over the country to give a chance to netters in the provinces to compete in a Group 1 event.

Under Philta, events held in Manila were the only ones given a Group 1 status.

Another first for this tournament is the 8 Under Unisex which has been introduced already in the previous Luzon legs.

The Cebu leg kicked off the 12th Cebuana Lhuillier Age-Group Tennis Championships which has a total of 50 legs — 20 in Luzon and 30 in the Vismin area.

The number of entries last year was slightly higher with 185 than this year’s 171.

The girls divisions in all categories are played at the Citigreen Tennis Resort as well as the 10 Under Unisex, 8 Under Unisex and the 12 Under Boys. Pardo Tennis Club is hosting the 18 Under Boys while the rest of the 18 Under Boys matches and the 16 Under Boys are held at the Alta Vista.

Joining Suson in the quarterfinals today are Adrian Charles Nacilla, 4th seed Lorenz Anthony Celis, Cedrix Jhon Bravo, Erica Jay Tangub, Lemuel Garbosa, Mark Wilhelm Albarracin and second seed Stephen Zion Guia.

Meanwhile, four Cebuanos made it to the girls quarterfinals including top seed Elizabeth Abarquez, Pherl Bless Coderos, Shedel Aighey Gica and Nichole dela Rita who upset fourth seeded Rovie Baulete, 8-6.

Other quarterfinalists are Ashley McKenzie, Lyra Mae Ramirez and Rica Trexie Gudelosao.